Digital India Award 2016 on 19th December' 2016

At Plenary Hall, Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi

NIC UP received Digital India Award 'Platinum' icon in 'Exemplary Online Services' category for Project 'VYAS - VarnijYakar Automation System'. The ceremony was held on 19th December, 2016 at Plenary Hall, Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi-110001.

Hon'ble Minister of Electronics & Information Technology, Law and Justice, Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad felicitated the winners in the presence of Shri P. P. Chaudhary, Minister of State for Electronics & Information Technology, Law and Justice, Ms. Aruna Sundrajan Secretary MeitY, Sri Chidambaran Principal Scientific Advisor, Sri Ajay Kumar, Additional Secretary and Smt Neeta Verna Director General NIC.



(From Right to Left): Mr. Ashesh Agrawal, Sr. Technical Director & Project Coordinator, Mrs. Amita Shrivastava, Technical Director, Dr. Saurabh Gupta, State Informatics Officer, NIC, Sri. Mukesh Meshram, Commissioner, Dept. of Commercial Taxes, receiving award from Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad, Hon'ble Minister of Electronics & Information Technology, Law and Justice, Govt. of India.



Department of Commercial Taxes with a vision from Vidur Niti: "The King Should collect his taxes without hurting his subjects even as a bee collects honey without harming the flowers" is the highest revenue-earning department with a collection of 476,900 million in the year 2015-2016, comprising 60% of the total revenue of the State.



VYAS- An integrated e-Governance solution of Department of Commercial Taxes, Uttar Pradesh to provide effective and efficient system of collection of taxes based on progressive use of Information technology and to ensure an environment which is congenial for prospering of Trade & Commerce in the state of UP covering 1349 sector offices in 95 locations in 75 districts.

- VYAS has got two major categorization of inter-related web applications based on various automated services of the department:
- 1. Intranet web applications on various automated services Single sign-on for officials
- 2. Online services for around 1.3 million registered Dealers TIN based login.

Digital transformations in Dealer services under the project:

- E-Assessment (Notices & orders) is one of its kind automation for the Department, Uttar Pradesh is the first State in the Country to generate online orders & notices in format which not only includes relevant mandatory fields but also flexibility to generate even bigger orders through Offline tool. Technologically, Microsoft Word Template as offline tool to write the 40-50 pages long notices/Orders and on uploading the same, combining it as running text in HTML during Notices/Orders generation on the fly in ASP.NET Programming, was new that has been incorporated in the system. This solution was widely accepted and E-assessment could be a success in real time.
- Unique Detention memo No. generation via PULL SMS has been appreciated as best innovations in monitoring of seized vehicles in order to stop/ reduce tax evasion.
- Online Reconciliation of Tax deposit from Treasuries and Banks.
- Online availability of Acts/Rules/Notification/Orders/Tax Rate/Commodity Codes etc.
- Online Tax Collections and return file monitoring.
- Department statistical reports and formats related to department available on the system through MIS.
- All employee records available on the system.
- All Dealer database is available on the system
- Risk profiling & Assessment has been made faster, transparent and its monitoring is easy, a few clicks away.
- E-Registration has eased both ends i.e. dealers & Officials and is saving time, more transparent & widely appreciated.

Commercial Taxes Project Team with NIC Officers



Sitting(L to R): Mr. Sanjay Kumar, DC, Ms Amita Srivastava, TD, Mr. Ashesh Agarwal, STD, Mr.Saurabh Gupta,SIO-UP, Mr. Mukesh Meshram,Commisioner, Commercial Taxes,UP, Mr. Vivek Kumar Addl. Commisioner, Mr. Dharmendra Singh,JC, Ms. Jaismine,DC

Standing Ist Row(L to R): Ms. Shruti Pant,SOE, Mr.Ravikar Srivastava,SA, Mr.Sanjay Chatterjee,PSA, Mr. Sandeep Ablash,PSA, Mr. Puneet Tripathi,AC, Ms. Anchal Agarwal,AC

Standing IInd Row(L to R): Mr. Pandaya, DEO, Mr. Manoj Joshi, DOE